I haven’t been around for that long, in the grand scheme of things. But I have been around long enough to collect a few grey hairs and a ton of possessions. When it finally came time to pack up my life in Australia and move overseas, I had the excruciating job of working out what to keep, and what to get rid of.

As a composer, I had collected my fair share of instruments, microphones, and a random assortment of hardware. Not to mention 100+ CDs.

As a sound editor, I had hoarded bits of metal, plastic and junk that made noises.

As a writer and a reader, I had filled a couple of bookcases.

As a machinist, I had accumulated a stash of tools and other bits of junk.

As a cosplayer, I had made a few costumes which were still in the garage.

I also had a car, a bike, gym gear, desks, couches, and more.

What the crap was I going to do with it all? How did one possibly decide what to keep out of all that?

My best mate and colleague in Aus has a great philosophy about moving that turned out to be invaluable when deciding what to do.

I like dumping everything and moving light. Because it reminds you what’s really important in life – people. When you know next time you move you’ll dump things, it stops you from getting attached to them.

-Ancel

This was a helpful mindset to adopt, because I was unable to afford moving all my stuff to a tiny little island in the Pacific. I found no companies that cheaply shipped from Australia to Saipan. It would cost thousands to ship everything I owned, and we couldn’t afford that on top of the cost of visas, flights, and everything else.

In the end, I narrowed it down to clothes that suited the climate I was moving to, a few pieces of technology I couldn’t easily replace, two guitars, a mandolin, some keepsakes, and toiletries. That was it.

When I moved into my last place in Aus, I packed a small truck with my stuff. When I moved to Saipan, I pushed it on one luggage cart.

Everything I couldn’t bring with me was given away, sold, or left piled up at my parents. I’m not sure they appreciate the extra clutter.

I really miss the people. And I sometimes miss the oddest little things; a garlic press or a screw driver. But you know what? I don’t miss most of the stuff.

My wife has given me something of far greater value and worth than the total of every, single, thing I have ever owned.

Her love.


 

This post was written for the LDRBN.
Inspired by the Packing prompt.
The post on LDRBN.

4 thoughts on “Decades of possessions, two suitcases

  1. I think this is something I really struggle with, mostly because almost everything I have I bought for myself. I’ve worked hard to buy certain things, saved up money when I didn’t have much, and boguht things I really wanted. It’s hard for me to say I’ve worked for almost two years and have nothing to show for it. If I were to move to Jay I’d be giving up a lot of things, most of them not material. This was one of those “slap in the face” type posts for me, basically saying “Why do you care so much, Christie?” haha. Thank you for this. I really love that you mention people are what’s most important. I completely agree with that! Too bad I have a lot of people here that I care about and love as well….Oh, the sacrifices of a LDR! I’m inspired by your willingness to move and maybe I’ll change my mind on things in the future. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can totally relate to that! I, too, worked very hard to get what I wanted/needed. There were a lot of very special things I had to let go of. Maybe I’m odd, but what helped me was making sure they went to good homes. I opted for giving a lot of stuff away for little or nothing to people I knew needed or would treasure them. The idea of a friend in need getting a prized possession for free was easier than a stranger paying full price.

      Yeah, leaving people is by far the hardest. I’ve not come to grips with that fully yet, some days I really miss my best mate, my Aussie church family. In particular, male friends. I miss my male bonding time, heh. That’s probably the hardest change for me. LDRs are definitely a sacrifice. But worthwhile one. I wouldn’t change my decision to move here.

      One of the important things I think is to work hard to find things you love about your new home. Don’t cling to the life you left, remember it, but don’t think of it as home anymore. I think that would lead to a lot of frustration and dissatisfaction with the move.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I LOVE that you gave possessions to people you know could use them! That would definitely make me feel better about leaving them behind.
        Friends and family are so important in life. It can be really difficult to leave those people behind. I get sad when my friends leave me for a two week vacation so I can’t imagine leaving them indefinitely. Hopefully you can make some new friends in your new home!!!
        I really like the way you phrased that…”don’t cling to the life you left.” The less you focus on that past life, the more you can enjoy your new home! Thank you for all of your advice. I wish you luck with the rest of your transition into your new home. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

